2012 episcopal assignments by jurisdiction by UMNS

July 23rd, 2012


Photo: Bishop James Swanson, a member of the General Commission on UM Men for the 2013-2016 quadrennium, was assigned to the Mississippi Area beginning Sept. 1.He presently serves the Holston Area. (A UMNS photo by Cassandra M. Zampini)

These are the assignments made by the committees on episcopacy in each of the five jurisdictions in the United States. The bishops will begin their assignments for the 2013-16 quadrennium on Sept. 1.
Note: Area appears first, with annual (regional) conferences in parentheses.

North Central
Chicago Area (Northern Illinois Annual Conference): Bishop Sally Dyck
Dakotas/Minnesota (Dakotas, Minnesota): Bishop Bruce Ough
Illinois (Illinois Great Rivers): Bishop Jonathan Keaton
Indiana (Indiana): Bishop Michael Coyner
Michigan (Detroit, West Michigan): Bishop Deborah Lieder Kiesey
Ohio East (East Ohio): Bishop John Hopkins
Ohio West (West Ohio): Bishop Gregory Palmer
Wisconsin (Wisconsin): Bishop Hee-Soo Jung

Boston Area (New England): Bishop Sudarshana Devadhar
Harrisburg (Susquehanna): Bishop Jeremiah J. Park
New Jersey (Greater New Jersey): Bishop John Schol
New York (New York): Bishop Martin McLee
Philadelphia (Eastern Pennsylvania, Peninsula-Delaware): Bishop Peggy A. Johnson
Pittsburgh (Western Pennsylvania): Bishop Thomas J. Bickerton
Upper New York (Upper New York): Bishop Mark Webb
Washington (Baltimore-Washington): Bishop Marcus Matthews
West Virginia (West Virginia): Bishop Sandra Steiner Ball

South Central
Arkansas Area (Arkansas): Bishop Gary Mueller
Dallas (North Texas): Bishop Michael McKee
Fort Worth (Central Texas): Bishop Michael Lowry
Great Plains (Kansas East, Kansas West, Nebraska): Bishop Scott Jones
Houston (Texas): Bishop Janice Riggle Huie
Louisiana (Louisiana): Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey
Missouri (Missouri): Bishop Robert Schnase
Northwest Texas-New Mexico (New Mexico, Northwest Texas): Retired Bishops William Hutchinson and Dan Solomon, interim (recommendation of College of Bishops to be approved by Council of Bishops)
Oklahoma (Oklahoma, Oklahoma Indian Missionary): Bishop Robert E. Hayes Jr.
San Antonio Area (Rio Grande and Southwest Texas Annual Conferences): Bishop James Dorff

Alabama-West Florida Area (Alabama-West Florida): Bishop Paul L. Leeland
Birmingham (North Alabama): Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett
Charlotte (Western North Carolina): Bishop Larry M. Goodpaster
Columbia (South Carolina): Bishop Jonathan Holston
Florida (Florida): Bishop Kenneth H.Carter
Holston (Holston): Bishop Mary Virginia Taylor
Louisville (Kentucky, Red Bird Missionary): Bishop Lindsey Davis
Mississippi (Mississippi): Bishop James Swanson
Nashville (Memphis, Tennessee): Bishop William T. McAllily
North Georgia (North Georgia): Bishop B. Michael Watson
Raleigh (North Carolina): Bishop Hope Morgan Ward
Richmond (Virginia): Bishop Young Jin Cho
South Georgia (South Georgia): Bishop James King

Greater Northwest (Alaska United Methodist Conference, Oregon-Idaho and Pacific Northwest annual conferences): Bishop Grant J. Hagiya
Los Angeles (California-Pacific): Bishop Minerva Carcaño
Mountain Sky Area (Rocky Mountain, Yellowstone): Bishop Elaine Stanovsky
Phoenix (Desert Southwest): Bishop Robert Hoshibata
San Francisco (California-Nevada): Bishop Warner Brown