· Scouting, Legacy Builders

Foundation creates the Larry and Diane Coppock Endowment Fund

NASHVILLE, Tenn.––The UM Men Foundation created the “Larry and Diane Coppock Endowment Fund for Scouting.”

During a Feb. 24 banquet honoring Larry Coppock for 21 years of service as scouting director for the General Commission on UM Men, Glenn Wintemberg, president of the foundation, announced a total of $15,000 has already been donated to the fund. Others may contribute by sending checks to the commission office.

Glenn also presented Larry with Dale Waymire Leadership Award, an award that has only been given to five other individuals. Waymire was one of the founders and the first president of the foundation.

During the dinner, Gil Hanke, top staff executive of the commission, announced that the national Court of Honor of the Boy Scouts will give Larry the Silver Buffalo Award later this year. This is the highest award the Scouts can give. It has been given three chief justices of the Supreme Court, 14 U.S. presidents and Charles Lindbergh, Richard Byrd, and Douglas MacArthur.


Changes name of Life Membership Award

The foundation agreed to change the name of the “Life Membership Award” to the “Life Achievement Award.”

“When I received the award, I thought I no longer had to pay for my EMS membership,” said Larry Dozier, vice president of the foundation. Other recipients of the award had similar responses.

“It’s really not a membership, it’s an award,” said Glenn Wintemberg, president of the foundation. The 23-member board also limited the number of free copies of UMM magazines recipients of the Life Achievement Award will receive. Recipients of Life Membership Awards will continue to receive the magazine for life. In the future, Life Achievement Award recipients will receive a one-year free subscription.


2018 Budget

The foundation approved a 2018 budget of $198,734. That budget includes $114,500 for the Office of Scouting Ministries and $41,000 for Men’s Ministries.

The $2.4 million Fund receives support from individuals who support specific endowment funds. It also receives $1,000 contributions from those inducting people into the John Wesley Society; $250 from those providing Life Achievement (Membership) Awards; and funds from Legacy Members who contribute more than $125.

Eight hundred and twenty-two people have been inducted into the John Wesley Society since it was created in 1991. Inductees include 47 bishops and 2 U.S. presidents. 



Back to News Articles