· Ministry to Men

Three bishops selected for commission

LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C. – The Council of Bishops has announced the assignment of bishops to the boards and agencies of The United Methodist Church for 2020-2024 quadrennium.

Arkansas Area Bishop Gary Mueller and Southern Congo Area Bishop Kasap Owan will serve a second 4-year term on the board of directors of the General Commission on United Methodist Men.

Louisville Area Leonard Fairley was selected by the Council of Bishops to be the third episcopal leader to serve on the board. He was elected to the episcopacy in 2016 while serving as district superintendent of the Capital District of the North Carolina Annual Conference. He is a graduate of Pfeiffer College and Duke Divinity School..

Mississippi Area Bishop James Swanson served as president of the board for the maximum two 4-year terms.

The board will elect officers at an organizational meeting following jurisdictional conferences in July.

Back to News Articles